Kyklos Ensemble - MediterraneaPublished February 19th 2015, 20:00

Kyklos Ensemble - Mediterranea
This exhilarating concert with works by Mediterranean composers both young and old brings the “Composition and the Mediterranean: new musical spaces, new temporalities” conference to a close.

The concert will feature works by composers including Giorgos Koumentakis, Dimitris Skyllas, Gianvincenzo Cresta, Zeynep Gedizlio?lu, Zad Moultaka, Saed Haddad, all performed by the outstanding KYKLOS ENSEMBLE.

The KYKLOS ENSEMBLE consists of leading instrumentalists with domestic and international solo careers. The ensemble plays works spanning the entire chamber music spectrum, retains an unfailing commitment to education, and works with vulnerable social groups through its social benefit programme. The musicians’ ongoing involvement with young people, the age range of its musicians, and its collaborations with both celebrated teachers from abroad and internationally-feted conductors including Teodor Currentzis and George Petrou, make the KYKLOS ENSEMBLE a force to be reckoned with in Greek musical affairs. 

Maurice Ohana (1913-1992)

Gianvincenzo Cresta (b. 1968)
In amoroso canto

Giorgos Koumentakis (b. 1959)
Soloist: Stephanos Thomopoulos (piano)

Zaid Jabri (b. 1975)
Solo for cello
Soloist: Vasilis Lykos (cello)

Zeynep Gedizlioglou (b. 1977)


Michalis Adamis (1929-2013)
for small ensemble and Byzantine Choir
Hellenic Byzantine Choir
Conductor: George Konstantinou
Cantor: Anastasios Stellas

Dimitris Skyllas (b. 1987)
Grief Gestures

Saed Haddad (b. 1972)
The Sublime

Zad Moultaka (b. 1967)
Où en est la nuit

Orchestra conductor: Artem Abasev
Marilena Dori: flute
Dimitris Vamvas: oboe
Slavic Cernavca: clarinet I / bass clarinet I
Mina Tsamou: clarinet II / bass clarinet II
Alexandros Oikonomou: bassoon
Dimitris Gogas: trumpet
Andreas-Rolandos Theodorou: trombone
George Rarakos: tuba
Kostas Siskos: horn
Stefanos Thomopoulos: piano
Prodromos Symeonidis: piano / celesta / harpsichord
Dimitris Desyllas: percussion
Andreas Farmakis: percussion
Sergiu Nastasa: violin
Otilia Αlitei: violin
David Alexander Bogorad: viola
Robert Smagulov: viola
Vasilis Lykos: cello
Takis Kapogiannis: double bass

The non profit organization ART COMPANY which creates KYKLOS ENSEMBLE is consisted of:
Sergiu Nastasa, Antonis Sousamoglou, Simos Papanas, Vasilis Lykos, Takis Kapogiannis, Marilena Dori, Marios Argyros, Dimitris Gogas, Spyros Vergis, Andreas-Rolandos Theodorou, George-Emmanuel Lazaridis, Stefanos Thomopoulos, Maria Bildea, General director: Dimitris Desyllas, Artistic director: Giorgos Koumentakis, Production director: Agis Gyftopoulos